Is it me, or does this just taste funny?

I stopped at the grocery store on the way home because I had not shopped over the weekend. I was hungry.  It is never good to go to the grocery store hungry. As I was checking out I decided that I would buy a small package of cookies. I do this every once in a while and I have had the same reaction for several months. They taste funny. There was a time that I did not think that. A time when I just ate them and didn’t even really think about what they tasted like. I just ate them. Today I bought a package on Nutter Butters with 4 cookies. I ate two and I am really not quite sure why I even ate the second one. They taste funny.

Nutter butters... they just taste funny now

My tastes have changed.  I still like a few sweet things, but not like I once did.  I find that I prefer fruits and vegetables or some of the snacks I choose like pretzels and pita chips.

I am also thinking more about portion size. For example, this is five servings or 550 calories:

Sweet potatoes - 5 servings

Yes, at one time in the not too distant past I would have eaten the whole thing and not really thought about it because it is a vegetable, right? I’m trying to read labels though and trying to think more about portion and what is a normal portion.  Half a cup is a portion from this container.  (If I had time tonight I would have baked a sweet potato instead of resorted to this package.)

This was dinner.  Yes, it’s beef because every once in a while I just want some red meat.

Dinner

That is half a cup of sweet potatoes, 4 oz of eye of round, and mixed vegetables.  It looks like a ton of food to me.  I really did not need, or want, any more than this.

I’m learning.  It just takes time.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, progress. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is it me, or does this just taste funny?

  1. Lori says:

    I like this post, because I’ve been concentrating on portions too. I still feel in my mind that if I only get a 1/2 cup of something, that I’m being deprived….but it’s all I need. And combined with the proper portions of whatever else you eating, it’s really more than enough. It’s really amazing how little we can actually survive on.

Leave a Reply

