2012: Looking ahead – aspirational races

I had deleted all my upcoming races for 2011-12 because I am uncertain about how long it is going to take to recover from surgery.  The estimate is around six months. Today I received two e-mails with dates for 2012 races though.  Both of these were races I should have done this fall if I had not been injured.  So I decided to add a few races back to the upcoming race calendar. I consider these my aspirational races – the one’s I want to be able to do next year. Part of healing is believing that I will heal and be back.  I added theLuray Triathlon in August.  I deferred that one after the tornado because I simply could not think about training and races at the time.  I also added the Lake Lanier Island Tri and the Baltimore Half which were both deferred because of my Achilles injury. The first one is 10 months out from surgery.  I really do not know at this point when I will be able to train again after surgery.  Much will depend on what they actually do. I do know that I am not giving up and that I will be back.

My foot

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in injury, races, recovery, training, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

