Preparing

Surgery is scheduled for Tuesday, November 8th.  I am working on preparing before then. I have a number of things that need to be wrapped up at work before I am out for a month.  I am working on taking care of those things, even while more things are added to the list. I also need to make arrangements for getting to and from my surgery and what I am going to do once I am home.

I am confident that my surgery will turn out fine.  It will take me several months to recover but I will keep doing as much as I can, remain focused, and not let go of the progress I have made so far. I have quite a bit of assistance with all of this.  (And I am ignoring the people who seem to enjoy telling me all the horror stories about Achilles surgery.)

Sam has given me modified workouts.  I can still do a lot as long as I don’t use my left leg too much.  I can also swim right now.  I’m not sure exactly how long I will have to be out of the pool.  That may be the most difficult thing of all.  This morning, when I really didn’t want to do anything, I went to the pool and swam a mile.  I felt much better for having done so.  I have been adding a few items to my home exercise equipment.  I’m going to have to have something to do while I am sitting around with my foot up for 4 weeks.

Pete checks out the exercise equipment

Some of these things have been around my life for a long time – the yoga mat, blocks, strap and cushion have been with me since I lived in Grand Rapids.  The other items are more recent additions.  The 3 pound weights are more symbolic than anything.  I have also had them for several years. I’ll have to do something about those since I lift more like 15-20 pound weights these days.  Under the guidance of my trainer, I can still work out. Just not like I might when I am 100% back to normal.

Tomorrow I am meeting with Sheena, the dietitian I have been working with.  We are going to discuss food strategies.  The past few weeks have already been challenging without a refrigerator. (It is now working again.)  I’ve had to be creative and mindful about what I have eaten.  I have held my own and have not gained weight through all of this. My goal is not to gain weight while I am off my feet either.  I believe that is also possible with proper planning.

I am moving forward, not backward. There will be challenges and days when I am discouraged but I know that, in the end, it will all work out.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, Dr. Laubenthal, injury, Sam, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

