Plugging along

When I was at the Rec Center today, I saw this on a t-shirt:

The only disability in life is a bad attitude. Scott Hamilton

I have been trying really hard to maintain a good attitude during all the things that have happened in the past week (and past several months).  I’m not always able to do it, but I keep trying. I find that having a plan helps.  And support helps tremendously.

My plan

I’ll know more after I see the next doctor tomorrow, but so far my plan is to maintain, if not keep losing.  On Friday morning I still went to meet with Sam at 6 a.m. even though we both knew that I would not be able to do much.  We used it as a planning  session and to do some  work on the arm bike.  Sam checked my RMR from my last bodpod so I know how many calories I burn doing nothing at all.  It’s more than I thought. We talked a little bit about setting goals for nutrition and using the next several weeks to really concentrate on that.  I have another appointment with the dietitian I have been working with to go over more specific goals. Sam also gave me some upper body workouts so I would have something to do.  I am hoping that I will be able to swim again but I will have to wait until tomorrow to find out.

One thing I do know – I won’t give up.  One friend asked me how I would have handled this a year ago. I probably would have felt much more defeated. Another told me I had resilience. Sam refuses to let me have a pity party for more than about 30 seconds. I  know that food is not an answer to solving problems. I will be finding other ways to deal with stress.

I will probably not be able to compete for several months so that gives me time and changes my training somewhat. If I have to have surgery, that really changes things. One thing I will take time to do is to close several open loops. If you are familiar with David Allen’s Getting Things Done, you know what I mean.  If not, then let me explain – open loops are all those things you have not finished.  I have several unfinished projects.   Some of these are personal and a lot of them are work related.  Some would take a few minutes to wrap up while others require several days.  It’s time to close the loops so I can clear my head and move on to other things that I want to do.  Some of the things that are waiting are health related while others are not.

I am trying not to think about the races I should have run or competed in.  I found that it wasn’t too hard this weekend.  (I should have been at Lake Lanier this morning for my final triathlon of the year.)  I have enough to keep me busy and this gives me time to think about other things and re-assess what I want to do once I can resume my training.

Update

I have a boot on my left foot.

My refrigerator is still not working but parts are on the way.

My DSL line is back up and running (so no fried electrical wires).

My router died but that can wait.

The AC works but the weather is lovely so I don’t really need it.

The car now has some weird, clunky noise in the engine and my watch broke.  These are minor and can be fixed.  I just have to figure out logistics.

Everything will be fine. 

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, Dr. Laubenthal, exercise, injury, progress, races, Sam. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

