Seven Pillars of Health

I promised to write something about the small group I am leading at my church this fall.  After looking around this summer, Chere, our Christian Ed director, and I selected a book called The Seven Pillars of Health by Don Colbert. We’ll use the book to begin discussions about the topics, but I hope that there is more to the class than just what is in the book.  I’ve been gathering articles as I have seen and read them this summer as well. And I absolutely hope and expect that the people in the class will bring questions, topics and ideas to discuss.

The Seven Pillars are:

  1. Water
  2. Sleep
  3. Stress
  4. Food
  5. Exercise
  6. Detoxification
  7. Nutrients

There is a workbook and a DVD that goes along with the book.  The class is 14 weeks so we will spend two weeks on each topic or add some different topics in that the group is interested in talking about.  I am hoping to have some people come in to talk a few times. The study includes creating an action plan for each week.  What will you do or commit to for the week? and for a change in your health. The book has a reading for each day.

I have also been reading a book called Refuse to Regain! 12 Tough Rules to Maintain the Body You’ve Earned by Barbara Berkeley, M.D. It is an interesting book and I like her 12 tough rules.  She has a blog that I had been reading before I bought the book. I am sure that I will draw on information from this book as well.

I may create a blog for the class.  I am still thinking about that.  I have about 2 weeks before it actually starts.  You will hear more about this part of the journey.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, exercise, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

