Just part of the process

If you work out or compete in sports, sooner or later you will have an injury.  It’s just part of the process. I’ve had injuries before – my foot, my ankle, my knees.  This time it is my hamstring. It just popped last Saturday while I was running.  There is a small tear but my doctor said if I follow directions that it will probably be three weeks instead of eight weeks until I can start running again. I have cancelled my races through the beginning of October.  It is time to let myself heal.

My leg was starting to feel better but I still thought that I should have it checked. I was right. I also know myself well enough to know that if Dr. Laubenthal says take it easy and don’t race, then I won’t. If I am left to myself, I might have done something dumb and hurt myself even more. (Of course, I also listen to my trainer’s advice so if he said don’t race I wouldn’t either.)

So I have at least three weeks with no running, biking, spinning or lower body workouts.  I can still swim though and I will be going to physical therapy. I can also do upper body work. Sam has already told me I am going to be doing the much hated (by me) arm cycle.

Lacey, me, Dr. Laubenthal

Lacey Quarles and Dr. Jeff Laubenthal at West Alabama Family Practice are two more of my support team.  They have been with me since shortly after I moved here so they have seen how much I have changed and have been so encouraging. I am very grateful for both of them.

I am also grateful for the kind remarks from many of my friend after I posted about my injury on Facebook.  thanks 🙂

Leading a class

This fall I am leading a class about healthy living at my church.  I’ll post about it in the next few days.  I need to wrap up the final details of presentation for morning before I fall asleep on my keyboard.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, injury, races, running, Sam, swimming, training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just part of the process

  1. Carol V. Livingston says:

    Millie,
    You are phenomenal and our church needs people like you to show what can happen when the mind, the body, and the spirit have the same goal! Love you!!!

  2. Lori says:

    I’d be very interested in hearing more about the group you lead at your church Millie….you a the perfect example for those of us struggling with weight (some of us our whole lives!). Be well my friend and rest up! Well, except for the upper body workouts 🙂

Leave a Reply

