More Seattle adventures

A PR

I re-checked my race times and See Jane Run was a PR after all. It was only about 7 seconds better, but still, a PR.  I had hoped for a minute or more.  Next time.

On the way

Atlanta airport

Other adventures in Seattle

I arrived in Seattle on Thursday.  I’ve been to the city many times because my sister lives there. It really is one of my favorite places.  My trips are always short, making me want to go back and see and do more. This trip was more relaxed and easy going than some trips. There were not a lot of things that had to be done. (When I was in graduate school I had a list of book stores and books that I had to find. There was always a mission.)

Eating is always a major part of a trip to Seattle.  I really  didn’t want to overdo the eating though and it is very easy to do anywhere on vacation. I didn’t do too bad though I was up a couple of pounds when I came home.  It could have been much worse.  We basically had one good meal in a restaurant each day.

Friday

We started at the Seastar, a wonderful restaurant in a rather nondescript office building. I had a lovely salad – Baby Spinach and Strawberry Salad
Walla Walla sweets, enoki mushrooms, candied cashews, honey-sesame
vinaigrette, warm chevre fillo crisps and a wonderful Halibut with Yakima Valley Asparagus Provencal.  It was an amazing lunch.

This was followed by a trip to the U Bookstore, one of the best independent bookstores around.  I saw this book and took a picture for my sister. It’s an old joke about Bob or Fred or whatever she named the Lobster I hauled back from Boston to try to make us feel bad about killing it and eating it.

Saturday

Blue Star Cafe in Wallingford

Saturday was breakfast day at the Blue Star Cafe, one of our favorite places. The Blue Star is in Wallingford.  I had a Boat House Scramble, fruit and scones. They have wonderful scones and jam.

Scone and home made jam - no I could not eat the whole thing

Boat House Scramble and fruit

Saturday afternoon

My sister dropped me off at the Westin to go to the Expo and pick up my race packet.  Then we went and tried to find a favorite bookstore that turned out to be on a side street where parking was impossible.  She dropped me off for the rest of the day.  Since it was rather early, I set out to explore downtown and the Space Needle.

I walked a lot and did some of the things that she does not enjoy much – like standing in line for 45 minutes to go to the top of the Space Needle and jostling through the crowds at the market.

My walk to the Space Needle included a stop at Top Pot Doughnuts. I was on vacation. I had a double chocolate doughnut.

After I was finished at the Space Needle, I decided to head to the Market since I had not been there for several years.  I think I will write about it in another post since I am having a hard time with photos tonight.

Trying to take a picture of myself

On top of the Space Needle

Under the Space Needle

Top Pot Doughnuts on 5th Ave.

Space Needle

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, exercise, progress, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

