See Jane Run, Seattle, July 17, 2011

I have several things to write about from my trip to Seattle.  One thing is the 5K I did in the See Jan Run series on Sunday, July 17th. There was a half marathon and a 5K.  I chose the 5K which was good since I am recovering from an injury (or just have recovered).

Overview

See Jane Run

Millie, Seattle, July 17, 2011

The race course was nice and flat, especially for Seattle.  It began in Gas Works Park and wound through Fremont on a paved trail.  The 5K was out and back but the course did not have any mile markers for the 5K.  I was rather bummed about that.  It was also really crowded at the beginning of the race and I could not get by the walkers very easily.  I finally just hit the grass and ran past a group.  I lost enough time there though so that I did not have the PR I had hoped for.  I ran the whole race, except for a few steps at the water stop.  That may be the first or only the second time I have done that since I still wind up walking a short distance.  I am inching towards my goal of a 30 minute 5K but I have a ways to go to get there.

Perspective

Everything is about perspective.  I have already posted a couple of things I heard at the race on Facebook.

This is an intimate race.  There are only about 2,000 runners.

It’s really muggy.

My idea of an intimate race is, oh, 40 people.  But I guess when you think about events like Seattle Marathon that attracts 17,000 and the Seattle Rock n Roll half and marathon which had 26,000 runners, 2,000 might be intimate.  The other one.  Well, she didn’t know the definition of muggy.  It was around 55-60 degrees.  It was cold and damp, but not muggy.

I ran the Disney Princess Half in February which I guess is technically a women’s race, so this was the second women’s event I have participated in.  I don’t know if that was the reason or because this was their first Seattle event or something else all together.  I thought there were some glitches.  One was transportation.  Gas Works Park is not exactly in the center of anything and it is a good 3-4 miles from the Westin, the event hotel.  Yet there was no information about transportation to the park and no arrangements.  We were left to our own devices. Cabs do not come by Gas Works Park very often so I walked at least a mile to catch a cab back to the hotel.  Getting there wasn’t hard though we went earlier than we needed to go because there was also not really good information about any streets that might be blocked or if there would be a bag check.  No streets were blocked off  as far as I could tell and there was, in fact, a bag check though there was nothing on the website about that. Those were the annoying things for this race, along with the crowded path.

New friends

I did get to meet some new people though.  Wendy Sibley and Mariana Olmeda and I shared a cab to the race.  We connected on Facebook before hand.  Wendy is working on doing 30 half marathons in 30 states in 365 days to earn Sun level for the Half Fanatics group. I think this was number 21 for her.  Mariana  was on vacation in Seattle and found the race.

More good things

The expo for See Jane Run was fun.  I did have a good time on the morning of the race and running as well. (even if I sound a bit cranky about some things). I bought a running skirt and new top (just what I needed) from Born Fit and got some purple compression socks that I wore home on the plane since I forgot mine. There were also products that I was not familiar with like a no calorie drink called Sparkling Ice and Somersault Snacks.`

Chocolate and Champagne

Ok, really, this race is about good marketing.  Who doesn’t want chocolate and champagne when she finishes running?  The whole race and company is geared to women who run together – with friends, family, and other women. It is all very positive – “if you can run a mile, you can run a marathon” is one of their slogans. It was fun. There seemed to be a lot of groups of friends and family running together.

Chocolate and champagne when you finish

Gas Works Park, Seattle

Millie at Gas Works Park

See Jane Run Bibb

See Jane Run, Seattle

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
Gallery | This entry was posted in 5k, exercise, races, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

