Summer goodness

It’s July – already – and there has been lots of summer goodness.  This for example from Homegrown Alabama:

Fruits and vegetables

I don’t remember what the squash is called but I know how to cook it.  There are also Chilton County peaches, blueberries and cucumbers.  I have a lot of tomatoes from various people’s gardens and a melon as well.  All good stuff.

Recovering from the holiday

I realized that I had not posted since before the 4th of July.  The 4th is always one of my favorite holidays.  I love fireworks and parades and all the patriotic music.  It was always the holiday where I was left alone and did not have to be dragged from one place to another. (Sorry – I love all of you but it was never fun to be uprooted all the time.)  It was also always my brother’s favorite holiday and I think about him a lot around the 4th.   This year I actually had plans for the 4th and went with a friend to dinner and then a concert and fireworks.  I admit it – I ate 4th of July food over the weekend.  I beat myself up a little for it but it was a holiday and I am back on track now so I am not feeling too bad about having a hot dog and some potato chips.  I made better choices than I might have in the past.  I opted for the 99 cent bag of potato chips instead of the family size bag. On Monday we had a really good dinner that was pretty healthy – grilled turkey burgers, sweet potato fries, and key lime ice cream (ok, that was not healthy but it was very good).  On Tuesday I got back on track and I have been having a great week.

It’s only water

My heel is feeling better.  I bruised in and I have not been able to run for the past week and I’m still swimming more than anything else.  Today I had a challenge that turned out to be a double challenge of sorts – unbeknownst to me.  My swim workout was the longest I have had so far – 2200 meters.  I knew that I could not get it in early this morning because I had an early meeting and because the pool does not open early in the summer.  I debated if I could actually go to another pool, complete the workout, and get to work on time.  I decided not to chance it.  This afternoon I went to the Aquatic Center to the 25 meter pool for the first time. It took a little effort to get there – it was the first time I had gone on my own and I was not familiar with the building.  I wasn’t sure how many people would be there in the afternoon.  There were all sorts of excuses running through my head.  I went though and it was quite a nice change – no swim lessons or water aerobics to navigate around like there are at the Rec Center in the afternoon. The pool is bigger and has more lanes.  The pool is also deeper. That was my unexpected challenge. I really had not thought about the 25 meter pool being 9 feet deep in the deep end.  So there I was, swimming into deep water – which I dread and wondering why Sam had not told me this pool was deeper than the Rec Center pool.  Probably because he didn’t really think about it or because he knew that I would just worry about the deep water.  After a few laps it did not seem so bad though.  Sam and I were talking about my deep water fears a few weeks ago and he said, “It’s only water.”  I thought about that.  It is …only water…and I can tread water and I was in the lane by the wall today. I was fine.

Today I finally felt comfortable in the deep water.  I’ve had a photo of the Ole Miss pool on my phone since the Rebel Man Tri when I was paralyzed (almost) by the deep water in the pool. I think I can finally take it off the phone and replace it with something else.

This was a long workout that took me over an hour because I am slow and because of the way it was structured and what I was working on today. I thought about Brad Rex a lot as I swam and some of the things he said to me during She Does Tri Camp.  One thing that really struck me today was that a year ago I had not entered the pool. I feel like I have really come a long way considering that and that I have made a lot of progress with swimming, in particular, over the last couple of months. It really shows me that so much is possible – and so much more than I often really think is possible. This is all part of my summer goodness too.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Brad Rex, camp, change, diet, Sam, She Does Tri, swimming, training, Tuscaloosa, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

