A year of healthy living

Today, June 30, marks a year since I began working with Dr. Morgan on better eating habits (No relation to Sam, by the way. Just a lot of Morgan’s in my life these days.) My eating, exercising, and life in general have totally changed in the past year. If you have been reading this blog or know me, you know that.

June 2010

Millie in one leg of the jeans.

What’s the secret?
Tracking, consistency and hard work. Those are the secrets or the keys to my success. I have tracked everything I have eaten for most of the year. The weeks I don’t, or don’t do it consistently, I have some problems. It is very easy to say or think that I didn’t eat much. It’s only when I consistently write it down that I know what I have and haven’t eaten. And tracking honestly is important. I was just in New Orleans for work. I ate out. I ate ice cream. I wrote it down. I also track my exercise. This helps me know what I have done and it has really helped me to go back and look at workouts to see how far I have come in the past year and a half. I was tracking my exercise before I started working with Sam.

Consistency is also important. I am generally at the gym 6 days a week now. This week I have not been because of being out of town and because I did something to my heel. I feel it. I need to, and will, get back to my routine with alternative exercises so my heel can heal. (Remember, when in doubt, swim.) I believe that exercise has been one of the most important factors in the change in my life this past year. Without it I would have just been on one more diet. It is the combination of changing the way I eat and think about food and adding consistent exercise that have helped me succeed.

Keep going
I need to continue. I have a little ways to go to get to my goal. I think getting there may take a while because it seems that the last pounds to lose are always the most difficult. I am trading fat for muscle though and I can feel that and see it. I am stronger and I have a lot more energy most days. (Today I just wanted to take a nap on the bike but I did not get to do that.)

My goal: Keep going. Stay strong. Remain healthy so I can live the best life possible.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, exercise, progress, training. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A year of healthy living

  1. Millie, since my scare with gestational diabetes I’ve really been trying to change. You are one of my inspirations. I am committed to becoming active as a way of life.

  2. Lori says:

    So proud of you Millie! You have been such an inspiration to me to keep working out and to eat healthy. It’s been almost a year since I started this healthier lifestyle (Aug. 19) and I am down 33 lbs and 2 dress sizes. Congratulations on YOU!!!

  3. David Glover says:

    Congratulations, Millie! Krista and I are so proud of you – you are truly an inspiration to anyone who wants to live a healthier and fuller life!

  4. Margaret Meyers says:

    Millie, you are awesome! Thank you for talking about what works. Tracking food and exercise is a great idea. My diabetic counselor suggestedI it, but I only did it for a week. It’s great to be realistic and not judgmental in tracking. I love the smile on your face and your can-do attitude!

Leave a Reply

