Don’t be afraid of tired

The other day Sam and I were texting about my run and swim times. He told me, correctly, that I don’t need to be afraid of being tired when I run. His point was that I know how to push through tired and keep going. I’ve been thinking about this the past few days as I have been swimming and running. I have still had a bit of a hard time with swimming, partially because I am still pausing to cough from my sinus infection. I’m hoping that is gone soon though. Today was a run – 3.5 miles. I decided to start out faster, as he suggested, and then keep running. I have tended to stop after the first mile and walked for a ways. It makes it difficult to begin running again. Today felt good. My pace was faster than usual and I was able to keep going. I’ve improved my running posture and form too, which I think helps tremendously. I finished the first mile 35 seconds faster than my fastest mile so far. I did walk part of a lap to my water. But then I started running again and kept running the next mile. I paused for a few seconds to grab my water bottle. Then I started running again. My third mile was faster than my second mile. I finished three miles 2-3 minutes faster than I have previously – a PR. And I kept going 3 more laps before I walked the final lap to cool down.

I did it and I was not really tired. I was happy. As I approached mile 3, I was smiling. Other people on the track probably thought I was nuts because I had such a big smile. I was truly happy that I had pushed through, kept going, and was still running. I had not given into tired or given up and walked. I kept smiling. Before I left I put a note in Sam’s box that just said “-4 minutes!!” (I read my watch incorrectly and thought I was actually 4 minutes faster. Not quite, but I will get there.)

I am getting closer to the goal I have set for a 30 minute 5K. I still have a ways to go but I can achieve this. It may sound like a trivial goal but it is something that feels significant to me.

Keep pushing – don’t give into tired – you never know what you might be able to accomplish.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in progress, running, Sam, training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t be afraid of tired

  1. Dana says:

    That is NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT a trivial goal AT ALL!!!! I think you have turned another corner in your training and will start to see MARKED improvements in your times. I’m so happy and proud of you!!! I’m going to keep that phrase in mind “don’t give into tired”. I love that!! 😀

Leave a Reply

