Awkward turtles and other humorous animals

Awkward turtles
Dead bugs
Bird dogs
and a sense of humor.

These are all ingredients for my workouts. The three exercises above have more exercise science/physiology/ kinesiology kind of names, but these are the names that Sam has given them. Last week we did awkward turtles for the first time. The name made me giggle. This is an exercise that works the obliques. If he told me the “real” name – supine oblique something or other, I probably would not remember it. I can remember how to do an awkward turtle – lay on your back and reach side to side towards your ankles – knees are bent. It looks like a turtle on his back trying to move. Perhaps this just reveals how my mind works. After all I can’t tell you street names, but I can tell you what’s on the corner.

This works for me. You need to do what works for you. Maybe you can remember the technical names for exercises. I usually don’t. I am also a visual learner. I need to see something in order to do it. Sometimes over and over so I watch a lot of videos of exercise, especially swimming, when I am trying to “get” something. It helps me to see good examples as well as bad examples. Sometimes how not to do something is just as important to see as how to do it.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, Sam, swimming, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

