What can be accomplished in a year

It’s been a year since I started working with Sam. If you have been reading my blog, you know that I have changed quite a bit. I’m planning on writing about the past year over the next week.

These two facts are not related. First fact. A year ago this weekend I made myself sick by eating sausage biscuits from Bojangles. They just did not agree with me. My usual routine was going to McDonald’s on the way to work – 2 sausage biscuits, one hash brown, coffee – something like $3.23. The morning I went to Bojangles the ATM wasn’t working at McDonald’s. I had not stopped at the bank so I had to find somewhere else to eat breakfast. Bojangles just happened to be the next fast food place on my way to work. I was supposed to leave for Duke to attend a seminar at the Center for Reconciliation. I was too ill to go so I had a week off with nothing to do. Second fact – not related to being ill. A year ago this coming week I started working with Sam, who scared me to death at the time. I already knew I was getting yet another trainer. Sam was my fourth trainer in a year. We were going to start after I returned from Duke but since I was in town, I called him – eventually. Not the first day. No sense in pushing things. I could wait. I went to the Rec Center and worked out at that point – sort of – but I didn’t go every day like I do now. I must have driven David, my previous trainer, crazy because I frequently canceled with him, partly due to the problems I had between December 2009- March 2010 with my leg injury, but still I just gave up pretty easily during that time.

My doctor had read me the riot act a few weeks before. My blood pressure was up, even with medication. I had gained more weight. My knees hurt from the arthritis in them. Every joint in my body hurt. I had a hard time breathing, and even walking. Stairs? Forget it.

All of that would start to change. So, why did Sam scare me to death? I must have sensed that there was something in store. I don’t know. He was an athlete for one thing. I was not. He seemed pretty serious. He is, but he is also a lot of fun to work with as you also know if you have been reading this blog. Now I think of him as my gift from God. Sam was the trainer I needed. I am very fortunate.

Where I was

Who is that?

This photo is from the spring 2009. I gained more weight after this. I started going to the Rec Center and working with trainer number one about a month after this photo was taken. I really did not make a lot of progress for a variety of reasons. I wasn’t committed to working out or to taking care of myself. I went to train but didn’t really go any other times. I might go one more time during the week, maybe, if I had time. I was not inspired.

June 2010 – May 2011
Things changed. I remember being on the bike the first time I worked with Sam. He asked me what my goals were for training. I’m not sure I really knew. I was pretty discouraged at that point. I am sure I said something like lose weight, get in better shape, have my knees not hurt. I don’t really remember.

This was my workout dated June 5 last year
Stationary bike: 10:00 Min, 1.64 miles – level 4-5; Track walking 10 laps in 30 min. (1 mile in 23 min.) 2×12 dumbbell shoulder press;3×12 bicep curls (7.5lb weight)

Where I am now

New adventures: planks with the TRX

Yesterday I swam 1800 yards. Tomorrow I am scheduled to swim 2200 yards. I did a half marathon in February. And I have finished my first triathlon. A little different.

Much more has changed. I’ve lost 140 pounds. My knees don’t hurt. I don’t take blood pressure medicine anymore and haven’t for months. I no longer feel discouraged and hopeless. There are all kinds of possibilities.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, exercise, progress, Sam, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What can be accomplished in a year

  1. Slim Em says:

    That is so amazing that you lost 140 pounds! Congratulation!

  2. Lori Moss says:

    Millie, I just can’t tell you enough what an inspiration you have been to me. In your blog about your weightloss and as a humanitarian. My reconnection to you has been a true blessing. Since last August I have lost 30lbs. and frequently struggle (with myself) and feel unmotivated. You and your writing have encouraged me so much. Keep up the good work…you are beautiful!

  3. Bridgett says:

    Millie, you inspire me! I always thought you were pretty cool but this is different. Because it was hard for you, I’m always impressed by people who challenge themselves and come through. Brava!

  4. Dee says:

    Wow…love you girl. What a powerful testiment to transformation and the ability to change. You are my poster child (woman) for change!

Leave a Reply

