Another 1600

I will get up in the morning from now on. This morning I didn’t. I had to swim in between the little kids swim lessons as a result. I wanted to get to the pool today but since I did not get up I had to choose between swimming and the Ride of Silence. I had been looking forward to riding tonight but, in the end, the pool won. After all, when in doubt, swim. I didn’t anticipate swim lessons though since I thought they were done for the summer, or at least until summer. Only part of the pool was available but I did get part of a lane and I swam 1600 yards total. I felt so much better when I was finished.

This evening I thought about the things that bring me true joy. Swimming is one of them. Laughing with friends is another. Going with two friends and taking 200 bags to a donation warehouse filled with goods for people who lost everything in the tornado was one of my joys today. Hearing from two old friends this evening who have offered assistance to Tuscaloosa because they want to do something to help touches my heart. One told me her preschooler’s wanted to buy everything to help. I’ve also had a wonderful time talking to several of my faculty members about great ideas they have for projects. It’s really been a pretty good week so far.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

