Women’s Health 5K

There were a number of things I could have done today. It kept changing. I thought I had one thing scheduled and then wasn’t sure. Had some other opportunities come up but could not say yes because I did not know if the class I thought I was taking was really going to happen. In the end I ran the Women’s Health 5K in Birmingham this morning. I’m glad I did. There were not many people there. The race had been rescheduled because it was originally set for April 30, right after the tornado. Downtown Birmingham is still confusing to get around. There are streets that are blocked off. Boutwell Auditorium is being used for tornado relief – probably FEMA, but I am not entirely certain. The race began in front of Boutwell Auditorium, by Linn Park.

My goal for the race was 36 minutes. Sam thought I could do 35 minutes. If my ankle had not been acting up, I probably could have. I finished in 38:50, which is still 5 seconds faster than my best time so far. I ran for a while with a woman I started talking to before the race. She has just started running and really just wanted to finish. She kept telling me she didn’t like to run and she was just doing this for her health. I was trying to keep an eye on her and cheered her on at the end. I know what that feels like. Today I really just wanted to finish too! The course was the same one as the Komen Race for the Cure. I thought they had changed the course but then when I sat down and looked at it after I realized why it was a little confusing. There was also a 1 mile walk in the middle of the 5K that took a different route. So today I ran this course 11:50 faster than the first time I did it in October. There were no mile markers out so I am not exactly sure what my mile times were. I know I did between 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 in 16 minutes, which puts me on the pace I have had the past week or so.

I also registered for the Buster Britton Memorial Triathlon today. It is June 11 at Oak Mountain State Park, close to home. It’s a sprint and it is doable. I am using it as an incentive, a reward, and a celebration. The incentive and reward part are to get my writing finished by then – I have writing projects that have been hanging over my head far too long. The celebration is a year of training with Sam. My life has changed dramatically in the past year. I still am on a journey to better health but I am so much farther along the way.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, progress, races, running, Sam, training, triathlon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Women’s Health 5K

  1. Pam says:

    Congrats on your race! A PR and a huge improvement over your last time on the course sounds like a great day to me. Good job!

    I have done a couple of races at Oak Mountain, and I bet a triathlon there would be awesome. It’s so gorgeous there! Have fun and good luck!

  2. Dee says:

    Two years ago… would you EVER have thought that a race would be a reward/incentive???? SSOOOOO Proud of you, Millie. YOU ROCK!!!

Leave a Reply

