From “I guess…” back to “I’m ready…”

Yesterday I did not really feel like training. This is just not usual. In fact, I don’t remember a day in the past year that I really haven’t felt like training. Tired, maybe, but not the way I felt yesterday. (I know. Who am I and what did you do with my sister?) But I went. I can’t explain why I felt this way yesterday. The roads have started opening up again and we can drive through the parts of the city that were totally destroyed. It’s a lot to take in. That could be part of it.

As we started working I started feeling better. Part of it was wondering where Sam comes up with some of the stuff he has me do – and laughing to myself about it. And laughing at myself because I do have trouble remembering which foot I have put in front of the other one some days. I felt better by the end of the hour. I had once again done things I couldn’t do a year ago or even a few weeks ago. I’d explain but I’d muddle it up. One thing that is pretty easy to explain is step up’s on risers. A year ago I could step up on a riser – one, maybe two. Last night I was stepping up on several – I didn’t count but it was high – maybe 4-5? – switching feet and doing lunges in between. I also did a set of step up’s where I was switching feet back and forth. Did you follow that?

This morning I was back at 5:45 a.m. It was BodPod time again. I’ve reduced my body fat 11.8% since August. Then we did dynamic stretches and ran 2 miles. I had a negative split on my second mile. If you don’t know, that is a good thing. My second mile was faster. Really, I just thought I was going to get sick the whole 2nd mile so I was happy about that. As I kept coming around the short end of the track I kept thinking that I could not even run that far in August. Now I can sprint laps – my pace of sprint, but sprint. It helped to have Sam’s encouraging, “you can do this.”

End of the track at the Rec Center

As I think about the last week it really hasn’t been bad in terms of exercise. I have worked out every day. I swam a mile without stopping for the first time. I ran twice, both times at a pretty good pace. Diet hasn’t been great some days but I am getting back on track with it as well. I’m getting back to a routine. I’m ready to reach my next goal. Let’s go.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in dynamic stretching, mental toughness, progress, running, Sam, Tornado, training, training pace, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

