Change of plans

This weekend I was supposed to go to Scottsboro, Alabama for my second triathlon. I registered for this one to face my fears of swimming into the deep end of the pool. The weather in the Southeast just is not cooperating, however. We are under a number of tornado and severe storm warnings and watches and now there is a flood watch for that part of the state.

Over the past week or so I have faced a number of fears and feel like I have done well with them. I won’t say conquered because sometimes they creep back in. This does mean my next triathlon in June will be an open water swim though. Ah, new challenges!

Weekend plans for the joker
Since I am not heading out of town I will catch up on some work that needs to be done. Let me preface the next few sentences with the following: if Sam gives me a set of 16 x 50s, I do 16 x 50s. Or if he says 3 sets of 12 burpees, I do 3 sets of 12 burpees. I’m not always good at counting though. Usually I err on the side of more, not less. I am blaming the heater still being broken in the pool for this morning. My brain froze. Sam said 16 x 50s, 4 free with drills, 4 back, 4 free, 4 back. I heard him but I guess I just heard 4. I was finished pretty quickly and I felt pretty good about my swim. My stroke felt good, I was breathing well and not lifting my head like I had been, I was being more aggressive with my stroke like Brad encouraged me to do. Sam was working with someone else this morning but he told me he thought I looked better and that he was impressed by how quickly I completed the set.

After I arrived in my office I was thinking about my swim. All of a sudden I realized what I hadn’t done. Ah, well, I guess I am the joker 🙂 I’ll get those other 8 x 50s in before the weekend is out, along with a run and a ride on Sunday with a friend who is going to show where there are some hills in Tuscaloosa. I will also write a few more posts about She Does Tri camp.

Happy Friday!

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, change, exercise, progress, Sam, swimming, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change of plans

  1. NOOOOO!!! say it isn’t so!!! Tomorrow should be really nice–even though today is super nasty. Is it the driving up today that you are wanting to avoid??? Could you come super early in the morning??? (it’s selfish really, because I’m very much looking forward to meeting you!!)

Leave a Reply

