Back at it: Last week’s training and other things

I’ve been thinking about quite a few things this week but I have not had much time to write for the blog. I am trying to get my faculty activity report finished up as well as some other writing that has been hanging over my head for far too long. Here are a few notes about my thoughts the past week though.

Training
I took Monday off after the triathlon. My brain was still pretty fuzzy. Then I went back to my routine on Tuesday. I took Friday off to write (which I did) but it also allowed for an extra workout with Sam and a longer bike ride.
Tuesday – Sam – strength and core work.
Wednesday – Spin class
Thursday – Sam – ran
Friday- Sam – swam, drills and then did a leisure bike ride later in the day (26 miles)
Saturday – ran and swam
Sunday – ran

Training went pretty well this week. I was glad to get back in the pool on Friday and have a little longer session to work on some breathing and stroke technique with Sam. We filmed part of it which I find immensely helpful. It seems to make a lot more sense to see what I am not doing right and then be able to correct it.

All three runs this week featured the hill on University. I’m still slow but I am faster than I was a few months ago. On Saturday I did not feel great and wasn’t able to run as far as I had planned. I decided to try again on Sunday but wound up running in the late afternoon when it had hit about 80 degrees. This was not all bad, however, since I have not done much running in the heat. Both of these runs showed me that I really am within reach of the goal I have for my 5K time. I said I wanted to set it by November. It may be much sooner than that though. I’ll let you know when I get there.

Funny things
A few months ago I posted this photo on my facebook page:

Even my keyring has changed

Over the weekend I noticed my car. It has also changed:

Front seat of my car

The backseat and the trunk are pretty similar – tire pump, extra sweatshirts, a rubber maid tub full of hats, gloves, bike locks, bike tools, water bottles, bungee cords, etc. I did clean up the front seat after I noticed this and took the picture. It made me laugh though.

Other topics
I have to be up early so I am going to save my other thoughts for tomorrow. I have been thinking about food and nutrition a lot and how we make choices about what we eat. I have also been thinking about the real purpose of eating – fuel and energy, not emotional sabotage. I am also working on a post about my doctors who have been supporting me. I hope to have time over the next few days to write these and get them posted.

Now I need sleep so I can be here at 6 a.m.:

25 yard Rec Center Pool

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, change, diet, exercise, mental toughness, races, running, Sam, swimming, training, training pace, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

