Hills

This morning I ran a 5K around campus. Most of it is flat but there are three hills, including the one on University that I never noticed until I ran the Holiday Hustle a few weeks ago. They are not big hills – just sloping, gradual, oh,yes, there is a hill under my feet hills. The point of this morning’s run was to make hills more than to be fast. I made two hills, including the one on University with relative ease. I ran/walked around the corner. That one is very slight and gradual. I was pretty pleased, especially after the ride yesterday.

I am still figuring out the pre-run meal. This morning I had an alternative bagel with a little bit of peanut butter. I felt kind of sluggish. Yogurt and half a bagel seemed to work better. It was hot this morning. I was missing those water stops that are placed along race routes so I need to figure that out too, or remember my water bottle that fits on my belt and is sitting on my kitchen counter.

Reviews for the triathlon mention hills but the maps I am looking at don’t make them look too big. I am really not sure what I will face next weekend.

After I finished my run I went in and did a short swim to work on my stroke and trying to not drop my arm too fast when I am breathing. I am more aware of what I am doing and of correcting it. I found it funny that I was shaking my head in the water when I wasn’t getting it. It’s a habit I have when I don’t do something right – just a slight shake of my head to show I am perturbed with myself.

This week’s humor

There were a number of funny little things that happened this week.

I saw my former Weight Watcher’s leader. She was amazed and did not recognize me at first.

On Thursday the bagger at the grocery store was worried that the bag of cat food, vegetables and fish would be too heavy for me to carry. I had just finished lat pull downs with 70-80 pounds. No, my groceries are not too heavy.

I received the results from a stress test. There is a history of heart disease in my family and this was a follow up to a test I had a few years ago. I know this is a standard message because the message my doctor left was so positive and he is clearly pleased with the results, but Sam, Krista and I have had a good laugh at the recommendation that I start an exercise program and work up to 30 min per session 2-3 times a week.

I need to go buy smaller jeans and then spend the rest of this beautiful Saturday revising a book manuscript. Happy weekend to all of you!

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, diet, exercise, progress, running, Sam, swimming, training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

