Tour de Cure: Stop Diabetes

In May I will be participating in Tour de Cure, a cycling event to raise awareness about diabetes and to raise money for prevention and a cure for diabetes. I want to thank everyone who has supported me so far. I reached my initial fund raising goal so I raised it from $500 to $1,000.

Why am I riding?
This is a personal cause for me. I am not diabetic but there are many people in my family who are or who have been diabetic. The one who had the most impact on me and who made me realize how serious this disease could be was my mom. She was diagnosed with diabetes when I was in junior high. Despite her efforts to control the disease, she couldn’t do it. She eventually lost a leg to diabetes and suffered other side effects – a stroke and a heart attack. My mom died in March 1983, two days before she was scheduled to lose her other leg to diabetes. There was much less known about diabetes at that time. I cared for her through this period and what she went through left a lasting impression.

In addition to my mom, several aunts, cousins and two sisters are diabetic. Through all of these people I have seen what diabetes does to a person and how it impacts their lives.

Mama and Aunt Marie

What is Tour de Cure?
Tour de Cure is a ride, rather than a race. Anyone can participate and can ride various distances. I will be riding 20-30 miles. This year is the 20th anniversary of the ride that raised $17 million last year. There are two types of diabetes: type 1 and type 2. My family members have type 2, sometimes called adult onset diabetes. Nearly 24 million people suffer from diabetes in the U.S. 440,000 of those people are in Alabama, where I live.

What can you do?

You can ride, either in Birmingham, or where you live. There are 80 events scheduled around the country.
You can join me to form a team. I’ve been trying to recruit a team but haven’t found 4 other people to join me. Let me know if you are interested.
You can donate to American Diabetes Association and the Tour de Cure through my fundraising page. Click here to donate.

Thanks. I hope to see an end to diabetes in my lifetime.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in bikes, Tour de Cure, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

