Slightly muddy, sort of like quicksand

The main part of my workout this morning was 16 x 50’s alternating free and back and swimming one lap at a sprint pace. Part way through my swim this morning I started feeling like I was swimming in mud. This is not unusual. I knew I was moving but it just didn’t feel like it. On the next lap I started thinking about mud vs, quicksand and decided I was sticking with the lap feeling like mud. This feeling passes fairly quickly and I soon felt pretty good again.

It’s been a good training week overall. I feel like I have made a few transitions that have come from training consistently. My runs on Friday and Monday both felt good. I was fairly relaxed both days and had better times as a result. At the end of the day on Monday I felt a little stressed by a couple of things so I went for another run – a far better alternative than a bag of chips, a half pint of ice cream or any of the other things I would have done in the past. Since it was 70 degrees I also was able to run in the heat for a bit. My pool transition dealt with breathing. I suddenly started breathing through my nose instead of my mouth. It feels much better.

Yesterday I worked with Sam. We did a round of things like burpees, lunges, push-ups, TRX, squats on the bosu ball. He has added hanging dead lift (I think I have that name right) and weights on the incline bench. Tomorrow we will swim and on Friday I will do a short, easy run.

This morning I was standing in the shallow end of the pool in between laps. I looked up and saw Deb, another trainer, in the studio and realized that I was standing in about the same place that she was standing with her client the day Sam told me we would be going in the pool soon. There were also two girls in the next lane who were talking to one another about not being able to complete a lap and hoping they would be able to by summer. I thought, yes, stick with it and you can do that. I probably should have said something encouraging but they both took off again before I could do so. As I continued my own swim I realized how good it felt to be in the water. The muddy, quicksand feeling was gone and I was enjoying the feel of extending, breathing through my nose, and realizing how far I have come. My immediate swimming goal is a 440 pool swim for a triathlon at the end of March. I think I’ll be fine.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in change, progress, races, running, Sam, swimming, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

