Race week

It’s race week. It seemed so far away when we all registered back in September but a week from today is the Disney Princess Half-Marathon. I was originally going to run the 5K while the rest of my cousins ran the half marathon. Note that I had not even run half a mile in September. I decided that would not be any fun so I could try the half marathon. I talked to Sam to see what he thought and he said he thought I could do it since it was six months away. So I registered, ordered a 2XL shirt because I never imagined that I would now be wearing a large, and kept plugging away at trying to run a single lap on the Rec Center track (8.5 laps is a mile).

Six months later and here I am – ready to go to Florida on Friday. Five of us are going to get up around 3 a.m. so we can be at the start line at 5 a.m. and then run 13.1 miles. This is a family event – my cousins Linda, Jean, Dionne, Amy and I will be in the race. Mel, Ron (who was taking this photo), Greg, Lawson, Madison, Wanda and Bill will probably still be sleeping while we are making sure we get to the start corral on time but I am sure they will be there, or at least some of them will be, at the finish line. (Just a reminder: I don’t look like I do in the photo anymore.)

Linda, Dionne, Amy, Jean, Mel, Lawson, Madison, Millie

Now don’t even think that I am going to run the whole thing. My strategy is to try to run most of the first two miles without stopping. Yesterday I ran an 11 minute mile, which is the fastest time I have had so far. At mile three I plan on using the Jeff Galloway method to alternate walking with running. My goal is a 12-14 minute mile throughout which will give me some flexibility for the required 16 minute per mile pace. I am hoping to finish in 3 hours with a goal of being at the Castle at around the hour mark. I have been running but I have also been swimming and doing cardio and weights because I am really concentrating on triathlon training.

My cousin Linda and I have decided we want a tiara for finishing this race. I’m sure we will earn them.

Tiara

If you want to, you can follow me here: Fairy tales do come true. One mile at a time.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in progress, races, running, Sam, training, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race week

  1. Lori Moss says:

    That is so exciting Millie! And I KNOW there will be a picture take of you girls in your tiara’s…Good Luck and go get ’em girl!

Leave a Reply

