Barrie Hirst Memorial 5K

This morning I ran the Barrie Hirst Memorial 5K with Sam. It was fairly cold out, but not awful.

Pre-race. It is probably time to get rid of this jacket.

After I ran the Brenda LaDun 8K I asked Sam if he would run a race with me to see if it would make me run faster. He agreed. It worked because this was my fastest time so far. My final time was 41:11 with splits of 11:27, 14:27, 13:23. The first mile was my fastest so far. The over all time is right around 14 minutes faster than my first races back in October. That feels pretty good.

I took a few things away from this race. I shouldn’t change my breakfast pattern before a race. I ate a little more than usual this morning and I ate a little later. I felt that on the second and third mile. I also need to get to a point where I just keep running when I hit the first mile mark and I don’t immediately walk. It’s hard to get going again. We were alternating running and walking the rest of the way. I also need to not feel discouraged when I slow down. This morning I kept reminding myself that I did just have outpatient surgery a little over a week ago. I know that I will continue to improve as I continue to train and lose weight.

I appreciated Sam running with me. It was also nice to have one of my doctor’s working at the finish line. They both know where I was last year at this time.

I did win some things – a prize for being the first one to register, a door prize, and second place in my age group (though there were only 2 people in my age group this morning, which I know I did not have to admit).

Running this morning reminded me again of how far I have come. It also reminded me that starting out the day with exercise makes the rest of the day better.

Sam and me after the race.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in progress, races, running, Sam, training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barrie Hirst Memorial 5K

  1. David Glover says:

    Millie,

    Congratulations on your run! It sounds like you’re learning good things, too, like being aware of what you eat on race morning. 🙂

    See you in a few months in Baltimore!
    David

Leave a Reply

