Waiting for my collarbone: a somewhat silly post

If you have never been overweight, you may not understand this post. If you have been, I am sure that you will.

I have been waiting to see my collarbone again. I don’t know why but it seems like when the collarbone reappears it is significant. I’ve reached some kind of goal that cannot be readily defined. I am not alone in the desire to see my collarbone again. Over the years I have seen posts on lists about weight loss, have heard women discuss this topic in Weight Watchers and other meetings, and have witnessed the excitement when suddenly, there it is, the collarbone. My collarbone reappeared a few weeks ago. Here it is, along with my wrinkly neck:

There it is - my collarbone.

I have marveled about bones for several months now. I don’t share this with many people. I imagine some of you are laughing your heads off and think I have lost my mind. But think about it. Bones are essential to hold up our frames but when we are overweight it is difficult to think about bones in this way because more often than not they are a place of pain. My knees hurt terribly when I weighed 100 pounds more than I do now. They no longer hurt even though I still have some more weight to lose. My other joints don’t ache either unless I have had a particularly hard workout.

I started seeing my wrist bones during the fall. I think it was in November. My watch sloshes around on my wrist now and I should have some links taken out but it has become a quiet symbol and reminder of my success so far. I am waiting a while longer before I have links removed and have it tightened.

Wrist bone and my loose watch

A few weeks ago when I was in the pool my left hand hit my side. It did it again and I realized I was brushing my hipbone. (No, no photos.) I am not sure when the last time was that I saw my hipbones. I can also see my ribs. I’m certainly not bony and I never will be. I don’t want to be. But it is nice to see my bones again.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, progress, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting for my collarbone: a somewhat silly post

  1. cathy says:

    Not silly at all, a great hallmark of all your hard work! Congratulations! I’m so excited for you, my (non-shoveling this week) friend. 😉

  2. Lori Moss says:

    I love this!!!! And I’m not laughing, it’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

