The happy runner

I received this photo this week. It was taken at the Brenda LaDun Conquer Cancer Run on Jan. 29.

Don't I look happy?

I think I look pretty happy. It was a beautiful day and I was having a good run. I don’t always look happy when I run – don’t let me fool you. I do feel so much better though and I am truly happy I can run, as I have already written.

I have been reading Danny and Katherine Dreyer’s book Chi Running: A Revolutionary Approach to Effortless, Injury-Free Running. As you might imagine from the title, it is about finding balance and focus for your running. They call it the “thinking person’s way to run.” I haven’t finished the book yet but I like what I have read so far. The authors write about running like we did as children – free, with abandon, relaxed and having fun. I have also recently read about smiling while you run. I think it is in this book too but I have been reading various articles and books on running. It does make a difference and I think it makes a difference when I am smiling while I workout. Smiling always makes things better.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, progress, races, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The happy runner

  1. Dee says:

    Millie, You are right…smiling makes everything better. I love this pic of you. You are such an inspiration…keep on runnin’, girl!!

Leave a Reply

