Races so far

Since October 2010 I have completed five 5K races. My plan in August was to do my first race in December. I registered for the Arthritis Foundation Reindeer Run as a goal. I did not wind up doing that race because I was out of town for a family event. Here are notes on the races I have completed so far. Hopefully it will tell those of you who don’t run but would like to that 1) it’s ok to be slow because the point is really to move and 2) if I can do this so can you.

October 9, 2010 Komen 5K – Birmingham, AL
50 minutes ran/walked I ran almost all of the first mile. Walked the second mile and ran/walked the last 1.1 mile. This was a pretty flat course but it was hot – 86 degrees. The most trecherous thing was dodging the strollers.

October 23, 2010 – Candler Park 5K – Atlanta, GA
55 minutes walked/ran. I did not anticipate the hills. It was almost ALL uphill. I began running but at the first corner (up another hill) began walking. I did run when the course went down hill for about 4 blocks. I was at the same pace I had been in the Komen at mile 2 so I thought I would finish in at least 50 min. but the rest of the course was steeper. My right knee (inside) began hurting around mile 3 – was not sure for about 30 seconds if I would finish – but I did. It did not keep hurting. My toes on my right foot hurt again. Even though I walked more than I ran and I was a bit slower, I am still happy with the results. Four months ago I could not walk 2 blocks, let alone 3.1 miles mainly up hill.

November 25, 2010 – Thanksgiving 5K – Atlanta, GA
51.25 I really wanted to get to 45 min. but we had to park a mile away from the start line and we were late due to traffic. We jogged/ran to the start line so we could do the race. I did run some – tried to alternate running a block and walking a block. The hills got me. They were not as bad as Candler Park. I still felt good and when I did run, it felt like a good, easy pace. I’m just thankful to be able to walk or run since last year I couldn’t do either.

December 18, 2010 – Meadowbrook 5K – Birmingham, AL
47:25 Improved time by 4 min. from Atlanta! It was very cold – about 35 degrees – but it was sunny. My left heel hurt at the beginning so I started walking. I started running and was ok. I ran about a 1/4 mile without stopping at least twice during the course. I was using mailboxes, signs and corners as goals markers The course was really nice with a few hills. I ran up part of a hill. The first two miles were both 15 min. I missed the 3 mile marker somehow.

January 1, 2011 – Resolution Run, Kennesaw, GA (ATC event)
Kennesaw, GA. 46:37 (13:01, 15:49, 16:18) Ran the whole first mile. Ran and walked the rest. It was raining pretty steadily and hard at times. My jacket was soaked (I should have left it in the car but I was trying to stay warm and a little dry before the race). The course was fairly flat – good surface roads around an office complex/mall area. I avoided the lines on the road because I figured they would be slippery. There was a lot of water on the road in places though. I was very happy with the first mile time – best I have done – and my overall time. I kept hearing Sam’s voice in my head saying “you can do this.”

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in exercise, progress, races. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Races so far

  1. Thanks for the informative article, it was a good read and I hope its ok that I share this with some facebook friends. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

