How I began

There were really many beginnings to my journey to being a healthier person.  The final straw and real beginning was last June though.  I’ve written this and told this to many people so if you already know, skip this post.  Two things happened.  I began working with Sam, my current trainer/coach (because really, I think of him as more of a coach these days).  I went to ALA in Washington, D.C. with thousands of other librarians who suffered through the miserable heat. The heat got to me.  I had enough during that trip and came back home determined to make a change. I have.  I began working with a doctor as well. The combination of a better diet and a regular, consistent exercise program have made all the difference.  To date I have lost 100 pounds. My knees don’t hurt unless I do something dumb like knock myself over with my luggage at the airport. I feel better.  There are many more benefits and changes that I will share on this blog.

About millie jackson

I am a librarian, a yoga teacher, a storyteller, an athlete.
This entry was posted in diet, exercise, starting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I began

  1. Karen Munro says:

    Hi Millie–just to say, I’m so impressed and happy to see this blog, and also to see your fitness updates on FB from time to time. You’re doing something that’s so inspiring and wonderful. I’ve just started running again after a few years away–my partner Amanda organized a team to run Hood to Coast this August, and we’re both scrambling to get fit in time. So in a small way, I know how hard (and rewarding) this is.

    I’m looking forward to seeing you in New Orleans–take care and be well!

Leave a Reply

